On My #Kampalan Hoard

20140622-100551-36351003.jpg

My trip to Uganda for the #Writivism festival is drawing to a close. I will be catching possibly the last flight out of #Entebbe to #Kigali today, then unto #AddisAbaba and #Abuja. Consistent with my habits, I’ve managed to spend half of the money I left Abuja with on books, each of which I’m pleased to have bought from writers I’ve met here for the first time, regardless of various levels of cybermiliarity.

My #Kampala hoard includes Ghanian Nii Ayikwei Parkes “Tail of the Blue Bird”, South African novelist Zukiswa Wanner’s “Men of the South” and her very latest “London, Cape Town, Jo’burg”, Jennifer Makumbi’s (Uganda) “Kintu”, Melissa Kiguwa’s (Uganda) “Reveries of Longing”, two copies of the #Writivism anthology “Fire in the Night”, award winning Zimbabwean writer NoViolet Bulawayo’s “We Need New Names” and my old friend Glydah Namukasa’s “Voice of a Dream”.

Each of them has been autographed with nice things said about Richard Ali. 🙂

Looking forward to reading these fine contemporary voices. Nigerian writing tends to be insular. I do not care for that. So, I shall enter the fiction of these others, these myselves, and into their poetry as well.

And to my friends like Richie Maccs and Ayeta Wangusa who dropped in from Nairobi and Dar es Salaam respectively, joining Beverly Nambozo Nsengiyuvna here, thank you for the ambience you provided Abubakar Adam Ibrahim and I. Salut, see you all again, see you all soon.

20140622-100627-36387596.jpg

2 thoughts on “On My #Kampalan Hoard”

Leave a Reply

