Perfect as a Mind River

[For Seblewengel Seifu]

20140402-052214.jpg

Perfect as a mind river is this girl Sebliye
When the breeze blows past, reeds whistle Sebliye

Path of my words bend my life to shores of Sebliye
For the stories of all love poets are poor tales of Sebliye

I am the buna of blessings come to sip of makaito Sebliye
I arrive to kiss her threshold, to break enjera with Sebliye

As breeze that comes to rivers perforce, so come I to Sebliye
I come to make red reeds blush of me entwined with Sebliye

For fairest of all possible fairnessness is my empress Sebliye
There is no philosophy to my love for ababa Sebliye

Love finds us and undoes our words, says Sebliye
Love the God blanket wraps secure I and fiqranya Sebliye

I bring golden treasure words to Tigray, to the feet of Sebliye
This her ransom to keep me–I, Ali, arrested poet, beloved of Sebliye.

4 thoughts on “Perfect as a Mind River”

  1. Sonorous. Resonant . Sublime. …’for the stories of all love poets are poor tales of Sebliye. This poem is fuel to burning hearts. This is pure poetry, congealed, undiluted.

Leave a Reply

