On Poetry

Image

 

Listen, with poetry, the artist is master even greater than the maestro of an orchestra. The instruments for the delivery of one’s private, devastating meaning are commas and ellipses and full stops, semi-colons and the sheer possibilities of repetitions of sound. What power! A poet by far, a poet forever, beyond a maestro I prefer my great craft of poesy.

The power of a poet lies in the enormous scope for determining how his poem will be read and understood and felt. Wallahi, with poetry, I can cause you to smile, I can cause you to weep, I can cause you to kill even. I can.

I’ve been editing four lines of my latest rubaiyat the last hour and I am high from how each reordering brings out the beauty of my purpose.

Ah, let me drink, let me drink of the madness of poesy forever!

2 thoughts on “On Poetry”

Leave a Reply

