Love, Nostalgia and What Is Left

Image

This morning, I got a Facebook notification that made me feel nostalgic. Read comments on a Note I was tagged in three years ago. Moments like this morning, I realize how much in love I was then, and how young I had to be to be able to feel love as truly as I did. It was, I see now, selfless in that self ceased to exist, yet selfish in that love like that completes one’s sense of self.

In time, when our lovers of earlier leave, we lose the obvious things that can be lost when we fall out of love, things such as a longed-for presence and opportunities for the demonstration of care. But if we loved at all, I think what comes after, loss, is always easily accepted parsimonious pay for the heady glory of times of memory, when one possessed another and was possessed in turn.

 

Leave a Reply

